© 2003-2006 David Moles

Chrononautic Log

«  Why I have to disappoint my grandfather
  Main  
Meanwhile, back in the other war  »

log

Who the hell is rdu163-56-153.nc.rr.com?

12 o'clock, March 19, 2003

According to my web server stats, rdu163-56-153.nc.rr.com accounts for about twice as many hits on this site as the rest of the Internet put together. My guess is it’s some sort of robot, maybe a screen-scraper looking for email addresses to add to a spam database or something. Or it’s some poor worm-infested ISS host looking for a vector; I get a lot of those, but I thought I was filtering them out of the stats. Or maybe it’s the Mailman from Vernor Vinge’sTrue Names”.

So, rdu163-56-153.nc.rr.com, here’s your chance: identify yourself, or face the consequences. If you’re human, I’m sure you’re reading this — possibly several times a day. If not, then — sorry, Hal old buddy, I’m going to have to pull the plug.

Mystery Solved

It’s J-Walker. (Thanks for letting me know, Scott.)

What would be interesting is to figure out what causes my log stats software to identify a request as coming from a search engine robot, and then see if we can get it to also treat J-Walker that way — since that’s basically what it is.

I suspect my sort of confusion will become more common as more web traffic starts to be programs talking to programs, rather than people reading files.

Comments

RR generally stands for Road Runner, NC probably North Carolina. (I'm too lazy to actually look up if they service NC to see if that pans out.) A bot wouldn't be my first assumption, but it's certainly possible.

FWIW: tog-wakko is me from work, and I think home is uswest, but you probably get several of those.

—— Scott Janssens, 1:05 PM, Wednesday, March 19, 2003

David,

That would be j-walker

http://www.scottreilly.net/jwalker/

The site is self-explanatory; I assumed you would have seen it by now given the mention of it by the others (Greg, Mike, Tim, etc).

It probes a site for updates every 30 minutes. But as the page indicates, you can be omitted from the list of journals it walks...

My apologizes for it wreaking havoc on your webstats...

-Scott

—— Scott Reilly, 1:31 PM, Wednesday, March 19, 2003

Scott — No worries; I just wanted to know what it was. Now that I know it’s legitimate, I’ll filter it out of the log statistics.

—— David Moles, 1:39 PM, Wednesday, March 19, 2003